Configuring Usage Telemetry

Overview



Seeq Workbench will periodically report on usage of various aspects of the product. These reports are uploaded to a central Seeq Corporation server if the Seeq Workbench browser has Internet access.

Telemetry reports do not include customer process data.

This information is critical to the continued development of Seeq products and has the following benefits:

  • The customer can request usage reports to understand how the product is used within the organization to inform licensing and purchasing decisions.

  • The Seeq development team gains insight into what areas of the product are used and how. This informs product improvement priorities and has a direct effect on the quality and richness of the Seeq product.

Enabling / Disabling Telemetry Upload

Telemetry upload is enabled by default when you initially install Seeq. If you wish to disable the feature, take the following steps:

  • For prior Seeq Server versions:

    1. Log in to the Seeq Server Windows/Linux machine.

    2. Open the C:\ProgramData\Seeq\global.properties file in Notepad (Windows) or the ~/.seeq/global.properties file in a text editor like Nano (Linux).

    3. Alter the seeq_telemetry_enabled line such that it is false. (To re-enable, change to true.)

    4. Save the file and exit the text editor.

You do not need to restart Seeq Server; the new setting will take effect immediately.

Anonymizing Telemetry Data

Normally telemetry information includes the Admin Contact's name and email and the name and email of the logged-in user which helps with troubleshooting and providing useful user-statistics. Beginning in Seeq Server version R22.0.47.00 and later that information can be anonymized by updating the Features/Telemetry/Anonymized option as described in  Seeq Configuration and User Data Files.